The Pit

                                                   The Pit

A man fell into a pit and could not get himself out.
 
A Subjective person came along and said "I feel for you down there in that pit"
An Objective person came along and said "It’s logical that someone would have fallen down into that pit"
A Christian Scientist came along and said "You only think you’re in the pit"
A Pharisee said "only bad people fall into the pit"
A Newspaper Reporter wanted the exclusive story on the pit
A Fundamentalist said "You deserve your pit"
Confucius said "If you had listened to me you would not be in that pit"
Buddha said "The pit is only a state of mind"
A Realist said "that’s a pit"
A Scientist calculated the pressure necessary to get him out of the pit
A Geologist told him to appreciate the rock strata in the pit
A Tax man asked him if he was paying taxes on the pit
An inspector asked him if he had a permit to dig the pit
An Evasive person came along and avoided the subject of the pit altogether
A Self pitying person said "You haven’t seen anything until you have seen my pit"
A Charismatic said "just confess that you are not in the pit"
An Optimist said "It could be worse"
A Pessimist said "Things will get worse"
Jesus walking along seeing the man in the pit simply knelt down, extended his hand and pulled him out of the pit!
 
I heard this poem read by Christine Caine, I don’t know who it’s by, but I like it and thought I’d share it.
 

10 thoughts on “The Pit

  1. Thank You Thank You!! My Assistant Pastor heard this & asked me to find it for him. I thought I would have to write it all out on such short notice. GOD Bless!!

  2. Just heard Christine Caine on Life Today and starting searching for it online. Thank you so much for posting. God Bless.

    1. I’m not 100% sure of what you mean when you ask for it to be broken down, but what I can do is offer you what my interpretation of what this poem means. The man that fell into the pit had no means by which he could get himself out. All these different types of people came by to offer this man what they in themselves had to offer him, these people gave their sympathy, opinions, thoughts, demands, self righteousnesses, woes and judgements, none of which helped the man in his situation. However there was one who came by and didn’t care how the man got into the pit, nor of what religion he was, nor of how good or bad he was, Jesus simply saw a man who needed help and with His love and compassion for the man he met his need and helped him out of the pit. The point is, it doesn’t matter where we have been, what we have done, where we have come from or who we are, we are all loved by God and we all matter to Him! I didn’t come to God because I had it all together I came to him because I didn’t have it all together, I needed His help. Jesus said in Luke 4:18 (NKJV) The spirit of the Lord is upon me, because He has anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; He has sent me to heal the broken hearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to set at Liberty those who are oppressed. he also said in John 3:17 (NKJV) For God did not send His son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through him might be saved. And last Jesus said Mark 2:17 (NKJV) When Jesus heard it, He said to them, those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. I did not come to call the righteous, but sinners, to repentance. I hope this answers your question, thanks for your time and question.

Leave a Reply

